The Fear of Writing

Sometimes I get Qualms about my own writing.
I know I am not the only one.
I have talked to many people who want to write but feel overwhelmed,
Who have projects in mind,
But are too scared that the first results won’t be perfect
So that they never write
That first line.
It’s an odd type of writer’s block,
Where you have a topic in mind
But panic and self doubt
Twist your wrist
Until pen falls
Onto still blank paper.

What is the point of writing anyways?
If not for ourselves
As a form of cathartic relief?
Or escape from reality?
Or a creative outlet?
Why do I write?
Why do any of us write?
Because if we write for perfection
Then we will never get there.

2 thoughts on “The Fear of Writing

Leave a Reply

